When Old Friends Just Don’t Work Out…

I recently included in my haul post the Origins Mega-Mushroom Skin Relief Cleanser and the Origins Mega-Bright Dark Circle Minimiser which are products I have happily used and loved in the past (the first time using these was just after my first main eczema flare) but this time something just wasn’t right. I had decided to try these because my current cleanser seemed too rich for the upcoming warmer months and my face cream didn’t seem enough for under my eyes which felt a bit dry (little did I know that they would be even worse now).

Origins Header

Having used them before, I decided not to get test samples and just brought the two products outright, this of course was a big mistake. The first couple of days of use were ok, nothing out of the ordinary, but as I continued to use them my eczema flared and my skin just got more and more sore, until it got to the point where it was just unbearable and I couldn’t “ignore it because I spent a lot of money on it” anymore.

My skin is now overly sensitive to even just water on my face and I have such intense puffiness and creasing under my eyes that I look decades older than I am. There also seems to be a higher number of spots on my face than in recent months which would also suggest the products are having an impact there too. I am so disappointed by this as I was looking forward to using them having loved them in the past but sadly it wasn’t meant to be.

Origins Mega Bright Eye Cream

At the end of the day though, I have learnt a couple of lessons from this;

  1. ALWAYS get samples of products if you can, you never know how it may react (patch test that skin care like you are advised to with hair dye).
  1. Your skin is constantly changing, just because something has worked before, that doesn’t mean it is going to again. This is especially important to consider if you haven’t used the product recently as the skin may have changed quite drastically.
  1. A bad reaction may not be instantaneous, it can gradually build up over time, you can’t always trust a first impression.
  1. Most purchase receipts are worth keeping (thank you Debenhams for E-Receipts!)

 

Origins_Products

Luckily it seems Origins and Debenhams completely understand this as, when I brought the products, the lady on the Debenhams counter said that there is a returns policy for within a month if the products don’t work for you. I went in store to ask about this again and with the receipt (or E-Receipt) they were more than happy for me to return the products for a full refund. I thought the service I got with this from the Debenhams store (in Leeds) was absolutely fantastic and I will definitely always go back there for skincare I’m unsure of with my eczema because it means I’m not necessarily stuck with it if I don’t like it! Thank you so much Debenhams!

I would love to know your thoughts on these products and how you manage skin sensitivity, let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading,

Signature

Leave a Reply

