Everyday Spring Lip Picks

Everyday Spring Lip Picks Header.jpg

As it’s now the middle of April, we are well and truly into spring so I definitely think it’s time for me to share my favourite lip shades for the season. I have split this in two with another post coming soon of the more vibrant shades I reach to as we head into the warmer months.

All Lipsticks.jpg


NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream in Cannes

NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream-Cannes.jpg

The NYX Soft Matte Lip Creams are a Liquid Lipstick that seem to be raved about everywhere I look and my opinion is no exception. If you are looking for a matte lipstick that won’t be drying, at all, then this may be your new best friend. It isn’t massively long lasting and it does transfer, but that is to be expected really with the word cream in the title and because it isn’t drying in anyway. However, the colour payoff, feel on the lips and the soft scent reminiscent of MAC lipsticks, definitely make it seem worth a lot more than the £5.50 price tag. This formula is especially perfect for early spring when our lips are still susceptible to dry, flakiness from the colder months. The shade Cannes is a pretty deep your-lips-but-better pink shade with brown and red undertones, a perfect transition shade from those winter berry tones.


MAC Satin Lipstick in Brave

MAC-Brave.jpg

While everything else on this list are reasonably new to me, this is an all-time favourite that I will go back to over and over again. While I am rarely drawn to the natural and your-lips-but-better shades at the Mac stand, I do always pick this up, give it a swatch and then realise it’s the shade I already own. I’m not going to go on about this as I wrote a whole post on it a couple of years ago and that says it all, but I do want to say again just how much I love it, even after all this time. (Always I can’t say that line without finishing the Harry Potter quote…) I guess the bottom line is, if you haven’t been in store a swatched it, I definitely recommend you do as you won’t be disappointed!


Beauty Bakerie Lip Whip in Versailles

Beauty Bakerie - Versailles.jpg

After my first impressions post did you really think I wouldn’t get more of these? I spoke a lot of good then and, without spoiling the upcoming full review, there is of course a reason I got more and am listing them here! Versailles is in a similar colour family to brave, but it is slightly darker and a more opaque, solid matte finish. This may not be a spring finish per se but it is going into wedding season and these will be perfect if you want to make sure you aren’t constantly having to keep an eye on it or top up over and over through the all the eating, drinking and dancing!


Beauty Bakerie Lip Whip in ASOS Nude

Beauty Bakerie - Asos Nude.jpg

I was very excited to receive this for my birthday from Dom’s gran especially as it is a different shade for me but I really like it! The formula is of course the same great formula as all the lip whips but this shade is exclusively available from ASOS. It is more peachy than other shades I own and doesn’t have any pink undertones so it sits more on the brown spectrum.


Combination of Beauty Bakerie Versailles and ASOS Nude

Combining these two shades gives so many different colour possibilities. I like adding a touch of ASOS Nude to Versailles to brighten it a bit as it can sometimes feel a little dark and increasing this so it’s more adding a touch of Versailles to ASOS Nude adds a few more pink tones for days when I want that a bit more while still being on the lighter side.


TooFaced Lip Injection Glossy in Milkshake

Too Faced - Milkshake.jpg

As matte lip shades are more of a winter thing, I like using this as a topper to my Beauty Bakerie Lip Whips when I want something glossier. This gloss is a similar shade to ASOS nude, except it’s lighter and doesn’t have the opacity but instead has little gold flecks (these don’t show up on the lips). I don’t know if it does a lot on the lip plumping side when layered over another shade but it does look good and brings another element to the beauty bakerie lip whips. The only problem is that this reduces the long lasting effect so it’s not something I would do if I desperately need their long lasting abilities. As much as I am enjoying this, there is one big factor that will probably put me off buying the full size and that’s the smell, sadly it just isn’t for me, but more on that in the full review coming soon.

Swatches.jpg
Top to Bottom: NYX Cannes; MAC Brave; Beauty Bakerie Versailles; Beauty Bakerie ASOS Nude; Beauty Bakerie Combination & TooFaced Milkshake

There are so many spring shades I want to try from brands like Charlotte Tilbury and even some more MAC shades. Please give me all of your suggestions below and I will go and see if there are any I fancy!

Thanks for reading,

The Mechanic x

7 thoughts on “Everyday Spring Lip Picks

    1. They are so good! I will do a full review in the next month or so, if you do get one before, the swatches on ASOS are lighter than in person (not sure about other sites) so it’s worth keeping that in mind when picking shades!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

