Lush Scrubee Body Butter…

Hi Guys!

About a month ago now I picked up a few things in Lush and I chose to get my first solid body butter, Scrubee, the cutest one I have ever seen! As far as I am aware (from the Lush Instagram) this is a Limited Edition product for Easter or Mother’s Day which is a bit disappointing because it fills a gap in the product range in my opinion.

Lush_Scrubee_Pre_First_Use
Unused

As always with Lush solid products, there isn’t any packaging for me to talk about. They do their best to be as environmentally friendly as possible so these products are wrapped in patterned paper which is fully recyclable.

The smell of the scrub is divine, it has a similar sweet honey, caramel sent to the “Honey I washed the Kids” soap which is so rich and relaxing, perfect for a pamper evening.

Lush_Scrubee_and_Rose_Jam
Unused

The Scrubee bar itself is shaped, of course, like a Bumble Bee. Initially the black stripes (made from ground coconut shell and ground almonds) are partially hidden by the moisturising honey and cocoa butter part of the bar. As the bar is used, the top layer wears away and the scrub becomes more prominent. In my opinion, the scrub portion of this is incredibly rough once the buffer of the top layer has worn away. At first this layer acts as a nice buffer to give just the right amount of scrub but without it, it’s a bit too much for me. It does help to use this with water (this is recommended by Lush) as that helps to buffer the scrub too, but it does mean the bar wears away quicker and it wears quickly anyway. To make this scrub more usable, I gently rub the scrub on my skin then turn the bar over and rub it in with the moisturising part.

The moisturising part of the bar feels beautiful on the skin. This hasn’t aggravated my eczema at all, when used it leaves a moisturising oil on the skin which sinks in and leaves my skin so smooth and nourished feeling. I would love it if they produced a version of this without the scrub as the rest of it is perfect for me. I now want to try the King of Skin Body Butter as this seems similar but without the scrub. Sadly though, the smell isn’t quite as good with that one for me!

Lush_Scrubee_4_Uses
After 4 uses

Overall, I would give this a 6/10 because the scrub is just too harsh. If this was toned down it would without a doubt be a 10/10!

I would love to know what you think of this bar and the rest of the Easter and Mother’s Day ranges, please give me your recommendations in the comments!

Thanks for reading!

The Mechanic x

 

2 thoughts on “Lush Scrubee Body Butter…

Leave a Reply

