L’Oréal Beauty and the Beast Lipsticks…

Hi Guys!

With the release of the new live action Beauty and the Beast film, I thought now was the perfect time to post my review of the two lipsticks I got my hands on from the L’Oréal La Bella e la Bestia Makeup collection based on the film. The collection was of 7 lipsticks with corresponding nail varnishes and each set was based on a character; Belle, Beast, Lumiere, Cogsworth, Plumette, Mrs Potts and the Enchanted Rose. I have to say that most of the collection didn’t particularly grab me. A lot of the patterns seemed fairly generic and didn’t represent the characters very well. However, I was completely drawn to the lipsticks for Lumiere and the Enchanted Rose which I was lucky enough to get my hands on. These were available as one big set, however this was quite expensive at over £90 and I couldn’t justify it.

2017-03-19 10.40.03

Something to bear in mind with this collection is that the only limited edition part of it is the packaging, the lipstick and nail varnishes inside are part of the Colour Riche range. I was slightly disappointed by this, it is always a bit more special when the whole product is made especially with the subject in mind. On top of this, the “different packaging” seems to just be a sticker around the normal lipstick tube which doesn’t seem particularly well finished and there was no additional external packaging.

This collection was only available on Amazon Italy, a strange place to release a makeup collection in my opinion but that’s the way it is. With postage to the UK I paid £25 for the two which is quite a lot considering the colour riche lipsticks normally retail for around £7 each, but I just couldn’t not get them as Beauty and the Beast is my favourite Disney film.


335 (Enchanted Rose)

2017-03-19 10.41.32

2017-03-19 10.42.09

The packaging for this lipstick is so striking and beautiful. The deep blue backing is a lovely velvet with silver through it and the rose is laid in with gold and red foil. In the packaging, the red looks like a very true rose red, however on the lips it has more of a pink tinge. This is still a nice shade, it is just not very well represented by the bullet. The formula of the colour riche lipsticks is very soft and creamy and feels lovely on the lips, however it doesn’t last very long. This is to be expected though with this type of formula. The smell of the lipstick is slightly strange in my opinion as it has a very false sweet smell which is quite strong and not very appealing. For me this does let it down.


231 (Lumiere)

2017-03-19 10.40.55

2017-03-19 10.43.49

Less striking than the enchanted rose but still lovely, the packaging for Lumiere has a yellow/gold background with a darker gold foil candelabra detailing at the bottom and a melted effect at the top in the colour of the lipstick. The finish of this lipstick is the same as the enchanted rose but it is a brown toned nude shade which follows the trend of the nudes started by MAC velvet teddy but with the more moisturising finish. For the actual lipstick, this is probably my favourite of the two as it is very wearable and a good everyday shade, however the packaging of the enchanted rose is definitely my favourite. As you can see from the photograph, there is damage to the Lumiere lipstick part way down the tube and it seems to be a bit loose. I’m not sure if this may have been cause by knocks on transit as it has been this way since I first received it.

2017-03-19 10.45.07

Overall, as much as I love the film I was a little disappointed by these lipsticks, mostly from the strong smell, that the packaging is just stickers and the bullet was damaged when it arrived. I do like the shades but as they aren’t limited edition, I don’t think this was worth the postage from Italy for them. Based on this I would probably give them a 5/10.

What do you think? Would you go to the length of ordering these from Italy? Let me know in the comments! I would also love to hear your opinion of the new film, aside from a couple of things, I loved it!!

 

Thanks for reading!

The Mechanic x

10 thoughts on “L’Oréal Beauty and the Beast Lipsticks…

  1. I also ordered the rose one from Italy and was so excited but the “sticker” packaging has already started to peel away from being loose in my bag, so disappointing 😦 xx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel as though it was a case of they went viral but they weren’t actually that good quality 😦 have you watched the film yet??? it was amazing 😍

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah sadly seems that way, if they were released everywhere, they may have put more into it. I loved it!! It was a shame the autotune was so obvious at first but I stopped noticing it a couple of songs in. I definitely need to go and see it again soon!!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

