Lush Ultrabland Cleanser…

Hi Guys!

 

Today I want to talk about skincare. If you have read some of my older blog posts you will know that I have real problems with my skin. I have been dealing with eczema for the past 3 years and it has been more than a little bit of a struggle. In the past year or so I have also had more of an issue with spots too so I feel like I am yoyo-ing from one side of the spectrum to the other.

I have questioned in the past whether maybe my eczema creams are too rich for my skin causing the spots, but with anything less I get the eczema. I have found that generally there is a fine line between that I can’t maintain for more than a week straight because of other things affecting my skin. I am trying my best to find products that will help and I am going to review them for you as I go.

The products I use change with the season and in September I tend to search for something a bit thicker and richer than I had been using in the warmer months. I think this is because my eczema gets worse when it’s colder and rich products definitely do me some good. This is where Lush Ultrabland comes in, I picked this up in the middle of September and now we are in November so I have definitely given this a thorough test! On to my thought…

You know the drill, for the short version skip down to the Bottom line paragraph, otherwise, enjoy my rambles! Lush Ultrabland Lid.jpg

Starting off with the packaging, to look at, the lush cleansers don’t look particularly special but this is nothing new. All lush products of this type come in the same black recyclable tub with the same label style. Personally, I really like this. No nonsense and fuss or extravagant packaging to distract from the product. For lush, that is where the wow factor lies.

The big thing about the packaging however, is their recycling incentive. All the black tubs are made from mostly recycled plastic and to get you returning them to be recycled, if you collect and return 5 of these black tubs, you get a free fresh face mask. This is well worth doing, especially if you want to try something new and indulge, it can make for a really lovely treat so get collecting if you aren’t already!

lush-ultrabland-label-1

Talking about trying something new, this is something else that really draws me into lush for skincare over anywhere else. If you talk to the staff about your skin issues they go above and beyond to discuss the available products that may work for you and they will provide little tester pots with a good amount of product to try so you don’t waste money on product that doesn’t work for you. With my eczema being so unpredictable, it is important for me to properly test whether it will affect my face or not before I part with my money so this is very useful.

lush-ultrabland-close-up

On to the product itself, to look at, Ultrabland is never going to stand out among the bright colours of other cleansers. It is a simple, plain white, no fuss product. For me this is perfect. I don’t usually like heavy fragranced products on my face and this ticks the box on delicate scent.

Ultrabland is also a smooth, thick texture (thanks to the bees’ wax and honey). I am very glad it isn’t scrubby because using a product with a scrub more than 2 or 3 times a week is way too rough for my skin and I was searching for a second daily cleanser. I personally prefer to use something thinner as my first cleanse to remove my makeup but this is perfect as a rich second cleanse to leave my skin feeling soft and not as though all my natural oils and moisture has been stripped.

When I am dealing with eczema, this is so gentle it always feels soothing and comfortable to use and never adds to the aggravation on my face. I would imagine that with how gentle it is, this would be suitable for all skin types in some way or another as it seems to soothe spots also (even though my diet is not helping there, I like cake and chocolate way too much…). I’m not sure I would use this as a morning cleanser with oily skin as it could add to the oily feel and reduce the staying power of make up, but that is something to decide based on the feel of your own skin.

lush-ultrabland-demo

BOTTOM LINE

Overall Ultrabland is a lovely skin-calming cleanser that is very rich and especially perfect for dry and sensitive skin types but could definitely be used in for other skin types too. With it containing bees wax it can leave a residue but with warm water and a cleansing cloth this can be removed without too much difficulty and it leaves the skin feeling soft and not as though the product has stripped the natural oils.

In terms of price, this is £7.95 for 45g or £12.95 for 100g. Initially I thought the tubs looked a bit small for the price and didn’t think the 100g tub would last more than a month but actually 2 months on I am probably 2 thirds of the way through so for 3 months use twice daily the price is pretty good.

I 100% recommend this, especially for the cold winter months when my skin is dryer and needs the rich, creaminess of this cleanser.

lush-ultrabland-label-2

I would love to know if anyone else has tried this and what you thought, so let me know in the comments!

 

Thanks for reading!

The Mechanic x

2 thoughts on “Lush Ultrabland Cleanser…

  1. This looks interesting. I also yoyo a lot when it comes to my skin and Lush has really done heaps for me. I use a combination of their Coalface and Mask of Magnaminty and it’s doing wonders for my skin. I’ve never looked into their cleansers but every now and then I treat myself to a new product so I’ll definitely keep an eye out of this one. Fantastic in-depth review.

    Would you by any chance be interested in having some of your work shared/featured on Creators.co? I’d love to see more of this kind of content on the platform. Feel free to shoot me an e-mail (you can find my contact details on my blog) for more information. I’d love to expand on that. Hope to hear from you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

