Everyday Makeup Update…

Hi Guys!

So, seeing as I took a long… long hiatus, it’s been a while since I updated you on my daily make up choices and a fair bit has changed in the last year!

I feel like I need to explain myself to begin with because you will more than notice a trend with my makeup. Like many others, I have the joy of dealing with regular eczema flare ups on my face as well as breakouts, this is an absolute NIGHTMARE. To begin with how the hell do I balance my skincare to cover both? And if by some miracle I can, most makeup destroys the balance and I am back to square one. This is all except for one wonderful brand… Bare Minerals. As you can probably guess, now I have found something that is happy on my face, it’s all I use. What can I say, it’s true love…

Everyday Makeup

On to the products themselves, I recently started a job that means I need to get a train at 7:30 every morning so I am up beyond early (for my previous student lifestyle) and I have shortened my routine so I can get as much sleep as possible.

BareMinerals Prime Time

With a fully cleansed and moisturised face, I begin by applying my primer. Through the day I move around from desk to workshop so I have found that I do need a good primer to keep my makeup where it should be. In the past I have tried many, from low to high end – you can see a comparison and dupe hunt I did here – but I kept going back to Bare Minerals Prime Time in some form or another. Most recently I am using the Original Prime Time (Debenhams, £22). This type of primer isn’t for everyone as it does have that pore-filling smoothing effect that seems to be considered like Marmite, some love it but some hate it, I am definitely with the former. I personally don’t use this primer to minimise pores, but I do find it helps smooth over any patches of eczema I have and create a bit of a barrier for my skin.

BareMinerals Original Foundation

I then move on to my foundation, currently I have gone back to my first Bare Minerals love, the Original SPF15 Foundation (Debenhams, £26.50) in Fairly Light (although for a lot of the summer I was using the shade Light instead). I have tried other mineral foundations, mostly when on a budget, such as Lily Lolo which I did also really like, but it was much more drying. It wasn’t until I used this that I realised how little the Bare Minerals Foundation dried my skin, it really did make a difference. I have also used liquid foundations at times but I still kept going back to the powders as I prefer the finish.

Bare Minerals BareSkin Serum Concealer

Following the foundation I apply Bare Minerals Bare Skin Complete Coverage Serum Concealer (Debenhams, £22). This may seem strange as it is a liquid after powder, but because the Bare Minerals foundation has such a brilliant non-drying texture despite the powder consistency, it really works. I find that if I do it this way round, dabbing it on with my finger, I use less and get better coverage in the areas where I need it.

Bare Minerals Mineral Veil

To set my foundation and concealer, I use the Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil (Debenhams, £21). This is a product that I am still debating about however. If I don’t use it, my makeup doesn’t stay put, but if I use it too much I think it is too drying and causes an eczema flare up. At the minute I compromise by applying small amounts with a little brush just where I need it, carefully avoiding any areas where I am very prone to eczema. I will probably do this until I use it up but then I may look for a better method.

Collection Clear Mascara

Once my base is done I like to go quite simple with the rest of my makeup, for my eyebrows, I don’t really need to do any filling in, but I do like to apply a clear brow gel or mascara to hold the hairs in place after I have brushed them to remove any foundation that may have accidentally got caught. I am currently using the Collection Colour Lash Clear Mascara (Superdrug, £1.99) for this. I apologise for how grim it looks in the picture…

Bourjois Volume Reveal Mascara

Make Up For Ever Smoky Extravagant Mascara

After this I move on to my eyes and, being lazy preferring time in bed, all I apply is mascara. I have two options in my makeup bag at the minute, a miniature of the Make Up For Ever Smoky Extravagant mascara (Debenhams, £18) and the Bourjois Volume Reveal Mascara (Boots, £9.99). I have been using the Make Up For Ever mascara for a while after being gifted it by a friend and really like it but I just can’t justify spending the price so despite quite liking it, I probably won’t repurchase. I got the new bourjois option because, since Revlon discontinued my favourite mascara in January, I have been searching for a replacement. The new Revlon options have been hurting my eyes (whole other story) so I had to avoid those and sadly Bourjois doesn’t quite cut it but I will use it up before continuing my quest for the perfect mascara.

Bare Minerals Blushers

Bare Minerals Blushers Swatches

The last product I apply is blusher. I have a couple of Bare Minerals blushers which I am swapping between at the minute. I had been using the Sleek Rose Gold blush which I loved, but I was breaking out a lot on my cheeks so I swapped to Bare Minerals and the number of breakout has really reduced so I will definitely be sticking to the good stuff. The blushers I have are Luminary and Your Highness Loose Powder Blushers (Debenhams, £20). I’m not sure exactly where you could get these shades as one came in a set and the other I got in T K Maxx, I haven’t seen them in Debenhams. The consistency is the same though and they last for absolutely ages so are worth the price in my opinion!

Burt's Bees Honey Lipbalm

For my lips I keep it simple with a Burt’s Bees Lip Balm (Boots, £3.69). At the minute I have the Honey flavoured one which I really like, but I do swap between flavours so I get a bit of variation.

And that is my overall look! You can see how it looks in the picture below…

Everyday Makeup On

So what do you think? (Other than that I ramble on too much!) I know it is very biased to one brand but if it works with my eczema I am going to stick to it, especially while I have a job that means I can afford that little bit more.

 

Let me know what you think about these product and any others that you want to recommend. If you made it to the end, I salute you and thanks for reading!

 

The Mechanic x

I’m also on Twitter (@mechanicbeauty) and Instagram (shannonjanehill) come say hello!

 

12 thoughts on “Everyday Makeup Update…

  1. Okay, I have 3 things to say: 1) Your blog name has to be one of my abs favourites EVER, I love it!, 2) You’re absolutely gorgeous and 3) I loved this post, I’ve actually never even tried anything from Bare Minerals before (I know) but you’ve made the products sound so good, I’m tempted to try the blushers, the colours are gorgeous! Look forward to reading more xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I’m glad you like it, it pulls together 2 things I love!
      Thank you, definitely too kind 🙂
      I really think the products are worth it, they just do so much better for my skin, keep an eye out in TKMaxx as the blushers are usually £5 there!
      Thank you 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I really related to this post with some of the things you’ve used I the past e.g lily lolo, I’m the same – it was just a bit too drying and amplified breakout areas. I’m still going through new make ups to find what works for me and you’ve absolutely convinced me to give bare minerals a go. I have the same clear mascara for my eyebrows and no matter how much I clean my rows before using it – it still ends up a gross brown colour 😂 One thing I would suggest for keeping make up in place (as I seriously have this issue when I don’t use it) is MUA Mattify fixing mist £5 from Superdrug – works a treat. Thank you for this post x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you like it! Bare Minerals is really worth it in my opinion, it doesn’t have that dry feel 🙂
      It goes so grim and gloopy, I have tried and tried but there is no avoiding it haha 🙂
      Ohh that sounds good, I may have to pick it up today! 🙂 x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

