The Very Late Spring Favourites 2015…

Hi Guys!

So as it is now July and we are definitely into the summer now, it means that I am just a bit late for my Spring Favourites post! If you haven’t read my post about why it is so late, why not give it a little look?

Anyway, sorry about the delay… I hope you are prepared for this, I have been desperate to do it for a while now but life got in the way, I hope you all think the wait was worth it! Some of the product, I have been using for a while, others only a couple of weeks, however, they have certainly become instant favourites…

As usual, I will start with the make-up then move onto the random bits and bobs 🙂

  1. Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream… £26 (from Debenhams)

2015-06-02 21.08.43

So, as I have written a whole review post dedicated just to this, I won’t go on about it too much now, so if you want to know more, check out my post for the full story!

All I am going to say here, is that it is sheer coverage with a light, dewy finish that you can barely feel, it lets your skin breath and is fabulous for spring and summer. You can also get a free sample that lasts at least 3 to 5 uses from the counters, so what’s not to love!

  1. Rimmel London Lasting Finish by Kate Lipstick in 37… £5.49 (from Boots)

2015-06-02 21.29.29

I first mentioned this in my Birthday Beauty Haul Post. I picked this up on a whim and I am so glad I did! It is a wonderful and wearable coral-red shade that works beautifully with my complexion. In terms of coral shades, this is definitely my instant go-to. It isn’t the longest lasting, but it is easy to apply on the go from the bullet. This also has a scent that I can’t quite place (sort of vanilla?), but I really love. This is a more gloss finish than I usually choose, and I would love to find a similar shade in a long lasting matte finish, but until then, this is perfect. All in all a fantastic product.

  1. Maybelline New York Eyestudio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner 24hr… £7.99 (from Boots)

2015-06-02 21.26.35

I have this in 01 Black, 02 Brown and 07 Black Chrome. I don’t use the latter much as I picked it up by accident, however, I do use the other two daily. The formula of these is smooth and creamy, it glides on beautifully without any dragging, and it is opaque on the first sweep so there is no messy attempt to re-go over the line to make it darker, hurrah! I have tried other drugstore gel eyeliners and none match up to this. I don’t even feel the need to try a high-end alternative… although maybe I will for a comparison post (just not yet as I am broke, a spending ban may be necessary)… I do need to invest in another brush at some point though, as my Real Techniques Fine Liner Brush is looking rather awful. I have tried the Real Techniques Silicon Liner Brush instead but I found this more difficult to use, so I may just get another of the former.

  1. Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette… £38 (from Debenhams)

2015-06-02 21.25.33

I did a full post on this at the beginning of May; The First Impressions… Eyeshadows. So I won’t go into too much detail as my opinion hasn’t changed much. I have used this pretty much daily since I got it, it is so versatile for use from day to night. In the initial swatches, the last shade in the palette, Blackheart, did not show up well. However, once used with a smoky eye, it worked beautifully and I really love it. My only issue with is palette is that I find it difficult to choose lipstick to go with it. I feel limited to my pink-nude shade so as not to over power. I definitely don’t feel I can use it with a coral or red shade. For this reason, I feel I need to get some more golden/taupe eyeshadows – maybe in my MAC palette. Either way, this is still a firm favourite and go-to product.

  1. MAC Lipsticks… £15.50 (from Selfridges)

2015-06-02 21.31.01

So, I got the Satin Finish Lipstick, Brave, for my birthday and I wrote full detailed review for it in May; The Review… MAC Lipstick in Brave. As I did go into so much detail about this, I am going to talk about my other MAC lipstick… yeah… I went shopping again. I decided to pick up Chili – which is a Matte finish – and I have worn it a lot since since, it is just so pretty! It is a gorgeous brick red which, for me, is a really wearable anytime red shade. I even had it on in the workshop.

This is incredibly easy to apply straight from the bullet… on a train… when travelling home from Manchester… having just brought it… I am really rather impatient. What I love most about this is the staying power. It lasts hours, through eating, drinking, etc. perfect as I am not great at thinking about re-applying, let alone actually doing so.

These are without a doubt, my favourite lipsticks.

  1. Essence Silky Touch Blush in 10: Adorable… £2.50 (from Wilkos)

2015-06-02 21.28.41

I got this Blusher back in March in My First Haul post, and I have used it almost constantly since, it is just so pretty! It is a gorgeous pink shade for me which is similar to my natural blush and complements shades from my Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette beautifully. It isn’t overpowering, but can be built up if wanted. It also isn’t the longest lasting, but it is perfect for me.

Once again, this is a go-to product which I adore.

 

  1. Barry M Speedy Quick Dry Nail Paint… £3.99 (from Boots)

2015-06-02 21.28.26

2015-06-02 21.27.41

I have gradually collected three of these, among other Barry M nail varnishes, since April. Of all of their ranges these are my favourites. I love the wider brush which makes it easier to cover the nails in one swipe – much easier and a lot less messy! As the name states, these are intended to be quick drying. I definitely think they live up to this as I smudge these much less than I do other nail varnishes – I just cannot sit still.

The colour choices are a little limited, however this is because it is a new range. The colour choices are perfect for the seasons though and I really hope the range is expanded more.

 

  1. Primark Extra Large Red Blanket… £10 (from Primark)

I think I speak, not only for myself but for a couple of my friends here too, when I say that this has been an absolute godsend when camping for the Shell Eco-Marathon events over the last few months. I am definitely going to get another one of these as I have lived wrapped up in this since I got it last year, it is the softest warmest blanket I have ever had.

I also “lost” it for a few weeks in June when I went home for a week, and one of my friends made full use of it… to hide from the horror films he was forced to watch. He was then very reluctant to give it back and it took a lot of persuasion. I may have to get one for him as a present before he steals mine again. I fully recommend it.

2015-05-28 18.38.58

So there we have it… my very, very late spring favourites! Maybe if I start my summer favourites next week it will actually get posted on time?

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed my favourites post and I would love to know your opinions of them below!

Thanks for reading!

~ The Mechanic  x

You can tune in to my daily life on;

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook 

Bloglovin’

12 thoughts on “The Very Late Spring Favourites 2015…

  1. The smell of the Kate Moss lipstick that you named is divine! Fell in love with it the moment I opened it. I still don’t know what the smell is and can’t find it anywhere. I also really want to get my hands on that Naked palette! The pink tones are gorgeous!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It does smell so gorgeous! I definitely think there is some vanilla in there but I’m not sure what else.
      I love the Naked 3 palette so much! It can be a bit limiting with choosing pink toned make up to match but you can still do so much with it!
      ~ The Mechanic x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

