The Review… Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream

Hi Guys!

So I have a new blog post for you… a review of my new favourite face product! The new Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream. I had my eye on this as soon as it came out and immediately got myself a sample, then the full tube a few days later… I loved it instantly.

I have used this every day since I got it (at least 3 weeks ago) and even used it when I was camping in Rotterdam.

2015-06-02 21.08.43

As usual, let’s start with the packaging… this came in a black and skin-tone box which looked very smart. I hate to admit though, it took me a while to realise the shade was written on the top of the box… never mind, we all have those moments… I hope. Anyway, inside the box is a dinky little booklet with all of the information which I never read, and there are extra cardboard inserts holding the product in position. It isn’t over the top, just a simple and sophisticated box that sets it apart as a high-end product.

The actual product comes in a gold plastic tube with a black plastic screw top. The plastic of both are strong and sturdy and once again exudes good quality, with all writing in black. I am glad this came in a squeeze tube, this is the easiest packaging in my opinion and the amount of product removed can easily be decided without excess coming out. The packaging can be seen in the picture above. I seriously cannot throw away boxes… I have a problem.

2015-06-02 21.06.44

Before, I talk about the product; I want to talk about the sample. In my opinion, this wasn’t as good as others I have had from their ranges. With others, I have been able to get a sample in the shade that best matches my skin. This sample then lasts for several uses the way I used it, meaning that it is possible to properly test it out before committing to pay for the full product. For the samples for this, although it plentiful with enough product to last for a few days, I was not able to choose the shade. It seems everyone is given the same packet with samples of 02 Vanilla and 05 Natural. Luckily, Vanilla worked perfectly for my skin tone but this won’t happen for everyone. I do think it would be much better to have a choice of shades.

2015-06-02 21.07.56
Left: straight out of the tube. Right: blended out – perfect match for my skin tone.

On to the product itself, I use the shade 02 Vanilla. This is a perfect match for my skin tone, making it a perfect product for light wear or if I only want to use it to even out certain areas. This seems as though it has the consistency of a tinted moisturiser, but the coverage can be built up a bit (but not much) if necessary. I usually prefer it to be sheer though so I am not entirely sure how buildable it is, but it is definitely light coverage.

When applied, this feels very cooling and hydrating, it in no way dries out my skin, or affects my eczema. My preferred application method is to use my fingers, similarly to how I would use a moisturiser, this give the sheer finish that I prefer and it blends perfectly with my skin. Once it has sunk in, I cannot feel this on my skin. It doesn’t feel like a mask and my skin can breathe which is great. As can be expected, this has a lovely dewy finish, again, just how I like it. I don’t even feel the need to powder every day because, with my primer, it stays put all day. This is perfect for me as I can’t be bothered to reapply and usually don’t take any face products with me through the day. With my combination/sensitive skin, I have never noticed this going with wear, nor has it felt uncomfortable or drying (it is in fact the opposite).

Since using this and other Bare Minerals products, I have had fewer blemishes and my skin has looked better without any make-up. This has really helped my confidence and meant that I don’t feel the need to use heavier foundations and too much concealer, helping my skin further.

The Bare Mineral Complexion Rescue retails for £26, which for some may seem a lot, but I think that this is well worth the cost. I use less than a pea size amount each time so the 35ml tube will hopefully last me a few months! I also love that this has the SPF 30, as I am terrible at remembering to use a sunscreen on my face in the mornings and this means I don’t need to worry.

The Bottom Line: overall, this foundation for me is fantastic. I still require concealer in places for a bit more coverage, but even so this creates a wonderful, sheer and flawless base. It is light on the skin, letting it breath and, with the added bonus of the SPF 30, this is going to be perfect for the summer (or anytime, as I think I will use it all year). For £26, I think this is well worth the money and recommend that everyone picks up a sample packet! The shade may not match but it is good for getting an idea of the feel of the product.

So there we have it, my review of the Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream. I am still working out how it can be both a gel and a cream… either way it seems to work amazingly.

Complexion Rescue in use
A no make-up, make-up day using the Complexion Rescue. I love how good this makes my skin look.

Have you given this a try? If so, what did you think? Let me know below!

Thanks so much for reading my little blog!

~ The Mechanic  x

You can tune in to my daily life on;

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook 

Bloglovin’

14 thoughts on “The Review… Bare Minerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream

  1. I have heard so many things about this product, but was a bit put off by the price! I’ve not tried any Bare Minerals products before but after reading your review I think I might give it a try 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

