My First Review… Burberry Kisses Hydrating Lip Colour

Hi Guys!

I’m doing a lot of blogging firsts at the minute, and this is no exception, this is my first review post and I am so excited about it! I hope you all like it!

Anyway, so you may remember me mentioning in my Birthday Beauty Haul a couple of weeks ago that I was very lucky and got a sample of one of the new *Burberry Kisses Hydrating Lip Colour*, like many bloggers by a “nominate a friend” to receive a sample chain. I had four shade choices and for my sample I chose shade No.85 Sepia.

(If you just want a quick summary of my opinion, skip to the last couple of paragraphs)

Burberry Kisses 85 Sepia Display

Burberry Kisses 85 Sepia

First off, the packaging. Wow. As this is just a sample I wasn’t expecting anything fancy but was I mistaken! It looks just like the full size, even with the print on the lipstick itself, just in a diddy form. I can’t get over how cute it is with being so tiny, just look at the picture of it next to my little finger, it’s teeny.

Burberry Kisses 85 Sepia Bullet and Packaging

It's so shiny!
It’s so shiny!

The lipstick arrived very well packaged in a box with a card inside about the lipstick and the lipstick itself was inside another smart box that you can see pictured. Even the quality of this little box greatly surpassed expectation as it is made from a thick textured card printed with all required information, again exactly like a miniature version of the main product, and the inside is a shiny reflective material that matches the lipstick packaging.

As you can see from the photo above, the packaging is incredibly shiny to the point of it reflecting the back ground so much that you can barely see it. Even just from the packaging, let alone the actual product, I don’t think I have ever owned any make up product so luxurious. The twist up movement of the lipstick is very smooth and just adds to the expensive feel.

Burberry Kisses 85 Sepia Swatch

Photo of me wearing the Burberry Kisses Hydrating Lip Colour
Photo of me wearing the Burberry Kisses Hydrating Lip Colour

On to the product itself, in the bullet, the colour to me appears to be a light cranberry shade with brown undertones. Once on the lips, as you can see above, the pigment is very good and with one swipe the colour goes on just slightly lighter than it seems in the bullet and can be built up more if desired. For me this is very flattering and incredibly wearable for both day to day and going out. It is a very versatile colour that could complement both a smoky eye and a natural look, which I am pleased about because it means the lipstick would get a lot more use by me than other, most commonly brighter, shades.

When applying the lipstick I definitely think that it lives up to the “hydrating” element as it glides on smoothly, feeling soft and lovely on the lips. I have found it to be fairly long lasting despite not being a matte finish and at no point does it feel uncomfortable or heavy on my lips.

I have found that the colour transfers easily but this was to be expected as it is a hydrating lip colour, furthermore, when it does start to wear, it does so evenly. With this shade, you don’t get the ring left around the lips with it looking as though you just look like you are wearing lip liner.

Overall, I am really enjoying this lipstick, there is no overpowering smell and there is a very satisfying click when the cap is closed.

I can only think of one con to this product. At £25, I do think this lipstick is overpriced, especially with the quality of others on the market for less than half the price. At the same time though, the quality is outstanding and if I weren’t a student and had a full time job, I would be willing to bite the bullet (sorry, couldn’t resist) and pay this, but not right now.

So, as a quick summary, this is a very luxurious and well packaged product – especially for it being just a sample. It is well pigmented, a very complementary shade and feels wonderful on the lips.

The only problem is the price, which seemed too high at £25.

The bottom line: I am loving this lipstick and I would love to try it in other shades, particularly brighter shades, I hope these will be just as good, but right now I cannot justify the price for myself. If you can justify the price then I most definitely recommend it!

So there we go, a lovely lipstick sample! Please tell me in the comments what you think of my first review post, did I go into enough detail or too much? I would love to hear your thoughts on this as well as the lipstick itself if you have tried it!

Thanks so much for reading 🙂

~ The Mechanic  x

You can tune in to my daily life on;

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook 

Bloglovin’

*Disclaimer: I received this product as a free sample, this has not affected my opinion, all thoughts and opinions are my own*

3 thoughts on “My First Review… Burberry Kisses Hydrating Lip Colour

  1. I think you’ve done a great job on your first review! Well done 🙂 I don’t do beauty etc so I can’t exactly say what to recommend but I read them and I think you’ve done a fine job 🙂 I agree with the price compromise though. I don’t wear make up often enough to justify buying the higher end products but I love seeing posts about them (what if? sorta thing lol) xo

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

