How To… Cookie Monster Cupcake!

Hi Guys!

I thought I would do an Ickle Blog with my first baking how to!

2013-08-16 18.56.50-1

So I was shown this a few years ago by someone I worked with and I absolutely loved it so I just had to share it with you now!

You Will Need:

  • Your favourite cupcake or muffin (I used a plain vanilla cupcake)
  • Cookies (I used Maryland cookies)
  • Desiccated coconut
  • Small white chocolate buttons
  • Small amount of black icing (preferably in a tube)
  • Blue food colouring
  • Icing Sugar

The first step is to prepare the cupcakes/muffins. The cupcakes I used were made in muffin cases so the top of the cupcakes is below the top of the case. For the best effect, the top of the cupcake should be fairly flat, so any cakes with too much of a peak will need to have the top of the peak removed.

Next prepare the coconut. This needs to be dyed blue to look like the fur, to do this, I gradually mixed drops of the liquid food colouring with the coconut until the desired colour was reached. I tried not to get the coconut too evenly coated as the different shades give more texture.

We now need to mix up some blue glace icing, this needs to be runny enough to spread well and fully coat the top of the cupcake, however not so runny that the icing drips over the sides too much (this is where the top of the case being above the top of the cake is helpful). Then we need to fully cover the icing, while it is still wet, with the coloured coconut so that it looks like the cookie monster’s fur.

Next the small white chocolate buttons and black icing can be used to make eyes. Just dot a bit of the icing where you deem appropriate (best positioned on the top half), then push the bottom half of the button into the cupcake, 2 thirds of the way back from the front of the cake.

Finally, peel back the front of the muffin case, cut a slit in the side of the cake, a third of the way in, and slot in the cookie. I wouldn’t add the cookie until right before serving however,as it draws moisture out of the cake, causing the cake to be too dry and the cookie to go a bit soggy.

Voila! Cookie Monster Cupcakes!

Let me know what you think of the cupcakes and if you decide to give these a go!

Thanks so much for reading, if liked this post and want me to do more similar, give this a like and follow so you don’t miss it!

~ The Mechanic  x

You can tune in to my daily life on;

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook 

Bloglovin’

7 thoughts on “How To… Cookie Monster Cupcake!

Leave a Reply

